A Quiet Normal Life

A life lived half in Atlanta, half in London

Posted by brendanstallard on October 30, 2006

Surprising how often thoughts for the blog come while doing other things when a keyboard is as far from the scene as is possible. Today’s was while doing the mowing of the back lawn, an activity I loathe. If I lived my life again, I would never waste any time mowing grass: an absolutely stupid activity unless it is directly related to playing cricket. I would never do it again if I didn’t have to, and if I had my life over again, I would not. I would not get into relationships which insisted that I do, and I would make it quite plain on the first date that I don’t mow lawns.

I get absolutely zero joy out of a scalped and organized garden, it just doesn’t satisfy any of the desire for beauty. I much more appreciate efficiency. I can’t see why we wouldn’t be planting potatoes and tomatoes in the front yard, rather than the useless greensward. Its useful for feeding ruminants and some insects, I suppose but mostly lawn lovers pour a disgusting mix of toxic substances on it to “green it up”.

Anyway, here’s a few pics of the yard………zzzzzzzzz

img_6925.JPG

img_6926.JPG

img_6928.JPG

img_6930.JPG

Leave a Reply

 
